

IIT Bhubaneswar to Hold Its 10th Annual Convocation Live On Hybrid Mode

By OMMCOM NEWS Last updated Oct 20, 2021 Share



Bhubaneswar: IIT Bhubaneswar is all set to celebrate its 10th Annual Convocation on 20th Oct, 2021, in a hybrid mode where students participate live in-person or by online during the current pandemic time. Prof RV Raja Kumar, Director, IIT Bhubaneswar addressed a pre-event press conference on the occasion.

NR Narayana Murthy, Founder, Infosys will grace the occasion as the Chief Guest by virtual mode and address the Convocation. Dr Rajendra Prasad Singh, Chairman, Board of Governors (BoG), IIT Bhubaneswar will preside over by online. Prof Raja Kumar will present the Convocation report and award the degrees to the students. The institute has evolved a very unique and innovative method of holding the convocation with participation of the degree recipients and degree awarding taking place in live form, either in-person or online presence of a student over internet.

During this Convocation, the Institute will confer degrees on 559 students including 35 Ph. D., 153 M. Tech., 79 M.Sc., 256 B. Tech and 36 Dual Degree. It is a proud moment for the

graduating students, their parents, the faculty members and staff members and the administration of the institute.

The President of India Gold Medal will be awarded to Dinesh Mohanty of the Computer Science and Engineering for the best academic performance among the entire outgoing B. Tech. batch of students.

The Director's Gold Medal will be awarded to Shivam Handa of the Mechanical Engineering and Mechanical Systems Design for the best academic performance during the entire outgoing Dual Degree (B.Tech+M.Tech) batch of Students.

The Director's Gold Medal will be awarded to Saswat Kumar Panda of the Manufacturing Engineering for the best academic performance among the entire outgoing M.Tech batch of students.

The Director's Gold Medal will also be awarded to Hitesh Gupta of the Atmosphere and Ocean Sciences for the best academic performance among the entire outgoing M. Sc. batch of students.

For the best academic performance in their respective branches, the Institute Silver Medals will be awarded to Dinesh Mohanty, Sudhanshu Choudhary, Kuldeep Gupta, Ranjith K and Jishnu Shankar Baruah among the outgoing B. Tech. batch of students.

For the best academic performance in their respective disciplines, the Institute Silver Medals will be awarded to Saswat Kumar Panda, Rohit Dilip Agarwal, Susmit Subhransu Sathpathy, Kona Sai Vikas, Soumyashree Bisoyi, Shivangi Shrivastava, Rajeeb Kumar Malik among the outgoing M. Tech. batch of students.

For the best academic performance in their respective disciplines, the Institute Silver Medals will be awarded to Shri Hitesh Gupta, Shri Vikasmita Samanta, Shri Aditya Kumar, and Ms. Rumki Ghosh and Shri Bibhabasu Pradhan among the outgoing M. Sc. batch of students.

On the endowment award category, Dr K Kasturirangan Award for the best Male Graduate will be awarded to Dinesh Mohanty, Prof P Rama Rao Award for best Lady Graduate will be awarded to Aneri Manoj Gandhi, Dinesh Memorial Award for best B. Tech Thesis – Mechanical Sciences will be awarded to Akarsh Balachandran and Tejaswi Memorial Award for the best B. Tech Thesis – Electrical Sciences will be awarded to Aneri Manoj Gandhi.

Pre-Convocation

Last year, the student strength of the Institute was 2490 (B.Tech. -910, Dual-Degree -380 (excluding Dual Degree 1st Year), M.Tech. -362, M.Sc -201, Ph.D -374, including 10% of EWS category and supernumerary admissions for women students). The Institute offers 6 Nos. of B.Tech. 9 Nos. of Dual Degree Programmes, 5 Nos. of M.Sc., 14 Nos. of M.Tech Programmes and Ph.D Programme in its 7 Schools.

Prof Raja Kumar added, "The convocation is a celebration of the graduation of students who earned their degrees with important learning during their peak youth hood and the institute is keen on their live participation. Therefore, the institute has come up with this very unique and innovative form of holding convocation during the last convocation itself and the same is being adopted this time too due to continuation of pandemic. We are very happy that Shri NR Narayana Murthy, has consented to grace the occasion and to address the graduating students."

Also present at the conference were Dr Pravas Ranjan Sahu, Dean Academics and Debaraj Rath, Registrar,IIT Bhubaneswar.

https://ommcomnews.com/odisha-news/iit-bhubaneswar-to-hold-its-10th-annual-convocation-liveon-hybrid-mode